Here I Go…

The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are.

So tomorrow I begin my six week intensive out patient program…I’m terrified of the changes that are to come but I know that I want what the program and recovery will give me. After a week of getting battery of labs from my physician, rearrangements to my academic schedule and my research assistance ship, hassles with the insurance companies, and figuring out the ginormous finances I am one tired girl. On top of this, I decided I still want to remain–and thanks to some pretty understanding professors, can remain–full-time in college and am still set to graduate from college next spring. Needless to say, my plate is full but I am going to do my best to post what I learn, experience and wish to share to my blog as often as I can amidst it all.

I also want to thank my readers and to the support from some wonderful people I’ve received since starting this blog. Your readership, input, and support means more to me than I can properly convey into words. So, again, Thank you so much.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Here I Go…

  1. Good luck! Yes, starting something new can be intimidating and I have been in an IOP program for the past 10-weeks myself (I had an inpatient stay part way though, so they reset the clock on me once I got out). Like most things in life, you only get out of it what you’re willing to put into it.

    I’m glad you have decided and committed to taking step towards somewhere other than where you are now 🙂

    • Thanks! 🙂 I’m also glad to read–from your post–that you are determined and taking the needed measures to recover as well. Keep up the fight in taking good care of you.

  2. Wow! Are you proud of you? I am! Amazing, courageous, beautiful steps you are taking. YES!
    I encourage you to be gentle with yourself, and give yourself credit for everything you are doing for yourself. We are not weak/broken/wrong/selfish/flawed because we have eating difficulties. On the contrary, we are creative, courageous, inventive, adaptive, intelligent, and immensely perceptive for creating a coping mechanism that can handle the depth of pain that we have found ourselves in.
    I applaud you! In the words of Dear Sugar, “The best thing you can possibly do with your life is to tackle the motherfucking shit out of it.” 🙂 You go girl!

    • Oh this post just cheered me up! thank you! And I’m not proud of myself yet, but I understand that my being proud of myself might not come until a little later. All I know is that I”m doing the right thing for myself and not my eating disorder and that has got to be progress somehow.

Leave a Reply

